After the storm in Africa

11 Nov

Last night was a stormy night. Actually all of yesterday was a stormy (emotional) day that had a grand finale coming down from the skies. Winds strong enough to send me flying over to Cameroon, Rain pouring down as if the world came to an end. Lights strong enough to lighten up a village for a week. The A.C going on and off as if it had a life of its own…

Then came today…

… And that is when my health-adventure began. I visited (and I’m sure I will make some envious with this story) the main hospital (founded by Israelis and run by about 60-70 of them here) Had a lovely chat with the pharmacist, had a walk down memory lane (most products ; drugs and general para-pharmacy products are Israeli goods) and found out that the only way to meet the Israeli expat community here is to go have coffee at the chic hospital cafeteria… And that is where I will be next, faking a sore ankle if I have to !!

As for my new minimal shopping life, my surprise today at the supermarket was to find Ebly Tendre Blé Cuisson 10 min… For some this may seem insignificant, but in this life, meal times take on a whole new meaning ! (you try eating rice and pasta every day for lunch and diner !)

HOME WORK FOR YOU : If you, dear reader, have some exciting recipes ideas (canned food mainly and minimum ingredients) don’t hesitate to “comment” and share those ideas… My imagination is not precisely running wild here… Canned carrots and various vegetables. Tuna. Salmon, sardines and that sort of thing. I am poor on dairy and meat products. Haven’t found the fruit and vegetable market yet (there seems to be one hidden behind a fence somewhere. Got to seek that fence ! Got to find that fence !) eggs are to be avoided (but I may try the float-or-sink trick on them) Bread… Well, let’s just say we can have a cracker instead…

Looking forward and hoping to read you for the good sake of my diet !

3 Responses to “After the storm in Africa”

  1. ima November 11, 2010 at 5:35 PM #

    Got a luminous idea! You have enough living space to run a farm chicken. Start by getting only two of those and with some luck, each of you will have a fresh egg every day.

    • Travel Personal November 11, 2010 at 5:41 PM #

      That is a brilliant idea !! They are running wild in the streets so I could have one or two myself can’t I ? Feed them Kellog’s K and mineral VOSS water just in case 😉

  2. ima November 12, 2010 at 10:11 AM #

    Plus, they may eat up all the bugs who are bugging you! Cocorico!!!!!

Leave a Reply

