A cat, a Sunday beach and jungle roads in Africa

29 Nov

Having a cat is fantastic. Having a house cat in Equatorial Guinea is even more entertaining and even precious. There are a lot of stray dogs around the city. Most, sick and wounded walking around the streets, sometimes sleeping in the middle of the roads or lying there lifeless… It is awful and sad to see them. You know you shouldn’t touch them as rabies have taken over and it is hard when they look at you with those poochie-poo eyes longing for some attention… One of the dogs roaming around our house is pink. For some strange reason, his skin has turned pink… It breaks my heart. So, when you have a small, fit and funky cat running in between your legs in the house and licking your hands on every occassion… It feels really nice.

Nico didn’t work this Sunday. I think it may have been the first time in months he skipped a day. We spent the morning at home. Playing with the cat. Taking photos of the cat. Admiring the cat. Trying to avoid getting scratched by the cat (well, mainly Nico as Camel has understood by now what role I play in his life and is treating me with love, tenderness and respect)

After more than 24 hours of rain and what seemed like an endless time with no internet, we went to Les Pagaies at Utunde. Spent some time on the beach, got some sun before the sky turned storm-black, had a drink, listened to a lot of Berry White, logged on to the world with a working wifi for just enough time to connect me back to civilisation, before returning home for a quiet Sunday internet-less evening with Camel and a film. It’s a funny feeling not being online for such a long period of time down here (48 hours). No umbilical cord to keep you connected to the rest of the world and what is going on in it. It can feel lonely.

==================================================

On this Monday morning, we are getting ready to go on a wild African adventure… We are heading to Mongomo, in the Wele-Nzas province, on the border line with Gabon and Cameroon, where Nico has to work and I, be served with an African sight-seeing treat. A long road trip, not as much as mileage is concerned, but rather the roads leading to it with the numerous check-points on the way. A wild adventure in the jungle and what may be 2 days away from the red-haired camel waiting back at home and the world wide web.

So, so long and see you all in a couple of days. Till then. Be good !

5 Responses to “A cat, a Sunday beach and jungle roads in Africa”

  1. ima November 29, 2010 at 10:13 AM #

    So, shall I tell Jules that your remark ‘having a cat is fantastic’ is not about him? I hope you’ll enjoy this short trip and that it won’t be too wild.
    Bon voyage! Pusi.

  2. Myriem msefer June 28, 2013 at 12:23 PM #

    Hi, love reading through your blog as I’m moving to EG with my family in a couple of weeks. I’m also taking my two cats with me and was wondering about finding cat food and kitty litter in Bata. Are they easily available? Would really appreciate hearing back from you soon to know if I should plan on bringing a suitcase full of cat food!
    Thanks,
    Myriem

    • Travel PersonalSandra June 28, 2013 at 7:42 PM #

      Hey Myriem, nice to read you as well.
      From what I recall we did find some cat food. At the same time we only kept the cat for a few weeks. But I believe there was food and litter. Worst comes to worst you can probably find it in Malabo if ever in Bata there is any shortage… However, it may be a good isea to take some with you just in case 😉
      My husband (who lived in EG for a little over 6 years) has just asked me for who you are going to work there for… If ever you need any contacts to welcome you warmly, we’ve got some, so don’t hesitate to ask.

      • Myriem Msefer July 2, 2013 at 2:29 PM #

        Hi,
        Thanks for your quick reply. My husband will be working for Hess on an education and health project in Bata. We will be there for at least 2 years, maybe more. We would love to have some contacts in Bata. I am feeling a little apprehensive about moving to a country in which I can’t speak the language… I do speak french, and I think there are quite a few French speaking expats there, so hopefully I’ll be ok:)
        I also have a 5 year old son, and hope to meet some people through his French school.
        If you do have some friends that are still there, I would love to be in contact with them.
        Any advice on what I should know before I go and the most important things to take with me?
        Thanks for your help,
        Myriem

      • Travel Personal July 8, 2013 at 4:35 PM #

        Hey Myriem,

        If he’ll be working for Hess I assume you will be living on the Hess compound which (according to my husband) is a city on its own and there will be nothing you will be missing there 🙂
        As for the language, they speak French and Spanish in EG.
        I met quite a few people through the French school… unfortunately most have left but my husband still knows some people there. Send me your email and I’ll tell him to get in touch with you to give you some names and advice, it may be easier 🙂

        As for what to take… Everything you know you won’t be able to find elsewhere unless you can get things delivered to the base 🙂

Leave a Reply

