Rain season, Dry season in Africa

17 Dec

Just like Scandinavia with its Winter season more or less 7 months out of 12, and Summer for the more or less 3 that are left, here in this part of the world, the temperature may never drop or rise, but the rain does. Rain season lasts for about the same amount of time as the North’s’ blistering cold, as for the dry season, which was supposed to start this week, lasts for more or less the same amount of time. I’ve been told that on December 15th, the water stops falling from the skies… On December 15th, waters started pouring down and haven’t stopped since… My hair persists in believing it can turn afro and this humidity is not helping it see right from wrong…

==================================================

I was supposed to get my African-made dress this morning. Sadly enough once I made my way through the market with its tailors, cloths and dried fish…  I was told that the dress was still in its early stages… Meaning as fabric in its plastic bag, untouched. The tailor, was looking at me smiling shyly, telling me that since Monday he has not done anything on my dress aside from wonder what shade of brown to use for the bottom part of it… having a sawing thread hanging down from his tooth, stuck… I didn’t know if to tell him he had it hanging there and that it really didn’t boost his credibility…

So tomorrow… “To-morrow, and to-morrow, and to-morrow, Creeps in this petty pace from day to day….”

==================================================

Spending Christmas here got me thinking… Shall I stay sober and organise a lovely Christmas feast with hubby, fancy food (as fancy as it could get and preferably pasta-free) champagne and a lovely make-believe bûche de Nöel… Or shall I go out pay a visit to the Chinese and get one of those very kitch overly decorated plastic Christmas trees and pretend to put lots of presents underneath it… Or actually make them myself… A princess crown made out of a toilet-paper roll for me. Double cuff’s made out of paperclips for him…

So many possibilities…

One Response to “Rain season, Dry season in Africa”

  1. ima December 17, 2010 at 6:23 PM #

    So now, that you finally are meaowing cat-free, you will spend your nights trying to remember what kind of home-made presents you did for us in your childhood, only to be able to reproduce them for hubby?! This is what a call ‘une regression carabinée’. Buy the plastic genuine chinese Christmas tree.
    Ici on chante ‘tombe la neige’. Pusi.

Leave a Reply

