Taking some (me) time off

11 Jul

Since March 6th, I’ve had little time for myself. Long showers, lunch, diner, coffee and drinks on a terrace in the rain or in the sun, proper shopping days, a stroll, an expo, a bus ride, all – stroller free – is something these days that I sometimes (really really) miss and get on (too) rare occasions !! I’ve even been to my physiotherapist on several occasions one hand on the stroller pushing it back and forth during the session… Not very relaxing when you’re there to do just that. So yes, life has changed dramatically and I came to the conclusion that my life is no longer my own and probably won’t be for the next 18 years… or 35 in case I’m pretty unlucky !!

We’ve been in Ile de Ré for the past 7 days, relaxing in the sun as much as possible. Yesterday morning I woke up at 6.30am, not for the baby but for the dog who was moaning in his corner a bit too early for his time. I got up, fed the dog, took him out, waited for the baby to wake up, fed him, changed him, put him back to bed and fell back into mine. Somewhere between 8.30 and 9am hubby got out of bed, took dog and baby out for a walk and I went back to sleep for almost 2 full hours… I wish I could sign up for this every day !!
Today, I didn’t get that lucky but at least both baby and dog slept till 8.15am.

One thing I hated in the first couple of months when baby arrived was being (constantly) told that taking a morning shower was something I should easily be able to do and it seemed “strange” I had such a hard time finding a moment to do so. Also, that I should make it a rule to nap whenever baby did… It’s a great idea in theory, it really is, and it probably works for some, I’m sure. However, while some manage this very well, others cannot sleep on command as easily as you probably do and napping less then, in my case, at least a couple of hours, puts them in an awfully bad mood when they wake up. Plus you’ve got the quite unexpected “housewife” scene going on when you have a baby, something you didn’t see coming at all ; washing, folding and putting away the never ending laundry (I truly thought that daily washing was an urban legend, but as it turns out, it is not !!), you find yourself constantly cleaning baby bottles (so you go out and buy enough to keep you going for 3 full days yet it never stops), unless you go on a hunger strike or spend your new life as a new mummy out in town, lunch will not prepare itself and if it was a pleasure to cook before it now becomes an obligation to avoid you from dropping from size 40 to 34 in a week.. By the time your food is ready, baby wakes up again and by the time you can actually get around to eating it, it’s dinner time so you start all over again.

Right now I can gladly say that while I’m writing this (I did start this 3 days ago but I’m getting closer to the “publish” button by the word now) hubby is playing with the baby, the dog is asleep… (actually hubby may have fallen asleep next to baby… It just got awfully quiet in the house all of a sudden) and I’ve got some time to look myself up close in the mirror and catch up…

So this is how it goes eh !? They should add this on the pregnancy test along with the 2 pink lines :

Pregnant*

*This is where your “life does no longer belong to you” start ! Enjoy your next 8 months to the full !! Trust us !!

I do have to say though that baby Hugo is really damn cute… A pain at times like every other baby on planet earth is I believe, but he’s quite cute and even though, after all this time I’m still not fully aware that he is “mine”, I wouldn’t mind keeping him a few more years see how he’ll turn out.. At least until he’s 18th… Or his 35th !!

One Response to “Taking some (me) time off”

  1. Irina July 11, 2013 at 5:03 PM #

    J’ai vu aujourd’hui une carte qui disait ‘Les 25 premières années de la vie sont gâchées par les parents, le reste c’est par les enfants’. Info, intox?!

Leave a Reply

